Skip to main content

Contact Us

Please feel free to contact the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics for any assistance you may need.

Physical address:
A&A Student Affairs Office
SERF 3rd Floor, Suite 322

Mondays, 8:00am - 3:30pm
Tuesdays, 8:00am - 4:30pm
Wednesdays, 8:00am - 3:30pm
Thursdays, 8:00am - 4:30pm
Fridays, 8:00am - 4:30pm

Current UC San Diego Undergraduate Students, please submit your questions via the Virtual Advising Center

General mailing addrress:
University of California, San Diego
Recipient's Name
Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics
9500 Gilman Drive, MC 0424
La Jolla, CA 92093-0424  USA


Departmental Leadership

For inquiries regarding the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics please contact:

Chair, Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics, 

Professor Alison Coil



Chief Administrator Officer (CAO),

Wendy Han


Graduate Program

For academic matters in the Graduate Program please feel free to contact the following individuals:

Vice-Chair for Graduate Education, Distinguished Professor Pat Diamond

For graduate admission inquries, please contact


Undergraduate Program

Current students please contact Student Affairs through the Virtual Advising Center (VAC)

For undergraduate general inquries, please contact

Vice-Chair for Undergraduate Education, Associate Professor Quinn Konopacky

Communications & News

For communication & press inquiries in Astronomy & Astrophysics please contact:

Communications Committee Chair, Associate Professor Sandstrom

Director of Communications, School of Physical Sciences, Michelle Franklin

AY23/24 Departmental Committees

The A&A department has several internal commitees for departmental governance for academic year 2023/2024. The following are the list of committes and committee chairs.

  • Graduate Admissions & Recruitment: Chair Q. Konopacky (Fall quarter) & Chair A. Burgasser (Winter/Spring)
  • Graduate Advisory Commtitee: Chair S. Wright
  • Policy Task Force: Chair K. Sandstrom
  • Space and Computing: Chair K. Arnold
  • Colloquium and Journal Club:  Chair C. Theissen
  • EDI and Climate: Chair D. Tytler
  • Outreach: Chair Q. Konopacky
  • Communication: Chair K. Sandstrom
  • Academic Senate Representative: A. Burgasser (Representative), P. Diamond (Alternate)
  • Astronomy Graduate Council Represenative: Ilyse Clark and Lindsey Hands

A&A Webpage Credits

Webage Image Credits

  • Homepage Banner Images
    • Banner 1: Geisel Library; Photograph by Gregory U. Jauregui, 
    • Banner 2: W. M. Keck Observatory; Photograph by Laurie Hatch Photography.
    • Banner 3: NASA James Webb Space Telescope Carinae Nebulae.
    • Banner 4: Simons Observatory; Photograph by Prof. Brian Keating.
    • Banner 5: Lick Observatory Main Building; Courtesy UCO by Rick Baldridge, Andy Macica, Patrick Maloney, Keith Wandry,  Laurie Hatch Photography.